LoBoy Fat Tire Chopper

Discussion in 'Photos & Bicycle Builds' started by graucho, Apr 4, 2011.

1. graucho

graucho Active Member

Been a while since I've posted. I've been busy building electric bikes for the past few years. This one will have a motor, so I decided to come to the place where bicycle motor heads hang out. :bowdown: I'm researching 4 strokes and I haven't came to a decision yet on the set up. I have plenty of room so it will be easy to adapt.

I took it on it's first roll and it is perfectly straight and smooth. I have a single sided rear axle set up to show off the insane rear tire. It's my first try at a single sided axle so I had to figure in a lot of math and calculations to get it perfectly balanced.

First Roll.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lctcd0rkW8g

Zero Steering Flop.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=alQKmadQsgc

[​IMG]

axle11.jpg
    http://i284.photobucket.com/albums/ll13/grauchosbikes/motored bike/axle11.jpg

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 4, 2011

2. srdavo

srdavo Active Member

Looking Good!!

Have you checked out the Harbor Freight 2.5 hp Greyhound??
    Needs about 12:1 gear reduction for bicycle purposes. IMO

3. Wheres my dog

Wheres my dog Banned

Now that is one bike with serious rear wheel stopping power!!!

4. ibdennyak

ibdennyak Guest

Ooooh, that's nice. Actually your build kind of looks like my mental picture of my current project.....only with......more attention to detail. :grin5: I am using a Lifan 50 pocketbike engine....mainly because the narrowness of the cylinder gives lots of pedal clearance. You don't need the clearance, but that frame would be so sweet with a similar engine. Not only that, if you aren't limited to 50cc, your frame looks to have sufficient heft to take up to a 140....all with the same footprint. They seem to be a very durable engine too, althiugh a bit heavy for a bicycle add on.