MOTORED BIKEs, About to give up!!!!

MOTOMTB

Local time
5:45 AM
Ok, guys. I've been doing the motored bike thing for a few years now and I don't know how I'd live life without one. My latest bike is a completely custom built frame and bike that is so awesome to ride.....when it's up and running.........:p but I have been avoiding an underlying issue with this whole motored biking thing this whole time. And that is......................wait for it................., the traditional drive train and derailleur system.

I think I've stopped counting the number of times I've had derailleur issues over the time I've been motor bicycling. Each time I get things fixed I continue with the hope that it won't happen again, that the random branch won't get stuck in my derailleur while I'm deep in the bush and completely twist everything to ****. But it happens again and again and now I'm done with it. The engineering testing and research that I've unintentionally been doing over the last few years has come to an end,.... and the verdict is, the traditional bicycle derailleur and drive train is just not reliable enough for motored power and is too susceptible to damage while on the trails.

So, I just don't see many alternatives to the standard derailleur system, at least that are cost effective. Sure, I've heard good things about the rohloff but cost wise, just not worth it. The only thing I can think of is an N360 hub but I have my doubts to the durability over extended time and I don't like how it increases friction in the drivetrain system. I'm about to give up, should I give up....what do you think? This motored biker is about to close shop and part everything out, I need some support....:)