Need help with online petition

Discussion in 'Forum Help & Suggestions' started by frankz, Aug 4, 2008.

1. frankz

frankz New Member

i found a web site that lets you make online petitions

http://www.petitiononline.com/create_petition.html

has anyone wrote one up for helping get motor assist bikes legal. Im not good with legal writing but i figured someone out their would be.

might be able to get quite a few e signatures and send to local lawmakers in bike unfriendly states

if we had a online petition we then could post it on myspace and sites like that its a collective thing! would be nice to hold or state legislators accountable

2. loquin

loquin Active Member

Why not start with AZ's law, (A.R.S. 28-2516,) ?

For instance:
    would become:
    In this petition, the limiting factor for a motorized bike is not speed, but is instead engine displacement or electrical power rating. This definition also defines motorized bikes as separate and distinct from pocket bikes, mini bikes, mopeds, powered scooters, and the like.

It also complies with the federal proposed guidelines fairly well, with the exception of omitting their arbritrary 20 MPH limit. In addition, it prohibits local ordinances limiting operation of a motorized bike, unless all bicycles are limited. (I'm sure that there are locations where it could be too dangerous to allow bikes to ride on given streets.)

Last edited: Aug 22, 2008
  3. Mountainman

Mountainman Active Member

great guideline - Lou

That's a great guideline - Lou

Seen many other (fine ideas) here on site
    but -- this I think -- very well thought out - brings it all together...

Been looking for something to present to our congressman here --
    I know that I am new and must --
    get all facts together first -- might be only one good shot
    thank you -- Mountainman

4. CA law, different than the rest

Hi Mountainman, what part of CA's law bothers you the most? Are you willing to risk it getting worse?