need some help

jimmycoyote

Local time
4:46 PM
I am new at this and I really want to try it. I got a cheap two stroke 80 cc engine kit just to try out. but I want a GOOD frame or bike to start with just in case I really enjoy it. I was kinda leaning toward the Micargi bikes, either the Pantera or the Tahiti. would I be better off with single speed or with seven speed? (I thought with gears I might up grade someday to where I could use them. because I live in VERY hilly country (Montana). does anyone have good Ideas about what is a good frame? and or bike to start with?.I live on a social security check so, I ain't a rich person. Thank you, Jimmy Coyote

A single speed can be hard to pedal if you brake down. As for frame what ever you like if the motor will fit it and if you heave a 7 speed maybe shift kit

coaster brake frames rarely have mounts for real brakes that will stop you at 30-40 mph

I have my engine kit on a literally $30 used bike with 7 speed shift kit. As long as the motor fits and it has good brakes I think it will work. The more important thing is probably to inspect that back tire spokes to make sure they are durable and strong.

biggest thing with those spokes is to learn to handle clutch gently

I've built both single speed and multi speed MBs. My real problem with mult speeds is that the back wheel becomes a good deal more complex than it seems it ought to. Just changing that occasional flat tire gets to be a headache and you find yourself not really wanting to do it.

So I'll probably go with single speeds from here on out. A rear cog with 22 teeth and a front chain ring with 28 teeth gives you gearing that's low enough that starting the bike is not a problem. Of course, that's your only pedal gearing. That's too bad because there are times when you'd like some other gearing. But I think the trade-off is worth it.