NEW -OCC Chopper FL, Palm Coast

occchopperfl

Local time
4:03 AM
Hi all,

I thought I posted earlier, but I dont see the link.
Here it is again.
Im new to this all, but i've been browsing your site occasionally for a few years.

I had an OCC Chopper, but gave it away to a friends son.

I got the bug again, and want to find a used OCC and build it.

"I have no mechanical training whatsoever!" :rolleyes:

I do have friends who are mechanics though! :cool:

Im located in Palm Coast FL.

Based on my initial research, this is the plan:

a. find another occ chopper bike
b. buy gurbee skyhawk 48cc gt2b engine from gasbike.net, and get @ 10 more chain links. (referred by barry - ebay seller of bracket and custom muffler) @199 plus ship
c. buy custom bracket ebay @36 plus 10 ship
d. buy custom muffler (done to muffler in kit) @30 plus 10 baffle plus 15 ship.
(roughly $300.00 Plus)

I did go thru the posts, and I do have a lot more to learn.
Any thoughts, or helpful hints?
Thanks in advance for your help!

-Jerry

Welcome to the forum. There are some well seasoned mechanics and fabricators on this site, but most of us started where you are. Look forward to pics of your completed OCC.

NEW-OCC Chopper FL, Palm Coast

Welcome to the Forum,
A few observations from one who has done an OCC. First off be prepared for some knuckle busting frustration, second be prepared for limited speed if you use the stock sprocket that comes with your engine, a smaller sprocket will give you more speed but limit you on hill climbing. I think you're in rather flat land there so you can probably use a smaller sprocket. The small 20"rear wheel doesn't require as much torque to turn as a 26" but you have a very wide tire that increases rolling resistance.