New to the motor bike world, looking at options

Glen4X4

Local time
2:27 AM
Hey y'all I'm Glen and I am looking at motor bike kits because I like to ride around and well gas isn't very cost effective and I miss those days of riding around on a bike before I got my license. I am a back yard mechanic type of person and a friend and I are looking at getting a bike motor kit, but I want to do it to a dual suspension type bike so it maybe interesting once I get a kit. I just wanted to say hey and now I guess I'll look around at different threads to see what all is possible with these.

Edit: After spending quite a bit of time on here, I see you all know your stuff well, I am impressed and glad I found this forum. I do however have a question I can't seem to find the answer to, how do the motors have the ability to get you 25-40mph when it seems like all the kits do is connect a chain from a sprocket on the motor to an added sprocket on the rear wheel of the bike, it seems like you don't have the ability to use the additional gears that's already on the mountain bikes. I don't want a poke along bike I want to be able to enjoy a descently paced ride and don't expect to drive like a motorcycle though.

Last edited:
First tip,,, most full suspension mountain bikes are pretty heavy to start off with.

I was thinking along the lines of one with an aluminum frame, what about one with just front shocks then?

A shift kit (or jackshift kit) will allow you to use the existing bike gearing and eliminate the motor chain problem associated with rear suspension.
Aluminum frames can crack from engine vibration, but they are usually the cheaper frames (dept store bikes) that fail. A steel frame resists vibration and usually rides smoother. You can use a suspension seatpost to help with the bumps.
Suspension seatposts start at under $25 for a cheapie and the better ones from RoxShox and Cane Creek cost way over $100.