Newbie from SOCAL

sidewindr

Local time
9:46 PM
New guy here from SoCal.
Second day on this forum, looking forward to my first build, have lots to learn.

My plan:
Engine 2 stroke. Either 50cc or 66cc. not sure which one to get...?
Bike: i have a few bikes, but i don't think it will fit. So i will be looking for a used bike or cheap donor bike. For my first build and to keep it simple, should i be looking for a cruiser bike (coaster brake?) or a mountain bike?

Any comments or recommendations are welcome.

Thanks in advance

Welcome to the forum!

I think standard MTB make perfect platforms for the 48/66 2-strokes. Their frames are usually close to perfect geometry for easy mounting.

Plus few bikes are as mean on the street as a street-tired MTB. Compact, light, lots of agility. Old steel MTBs are ideal for this.

Hi Newbie!

I'm also working on my first build. I've been doing research about MB's for a couple of months now and I'm hooked! I was advised by a legend in MBs (who shall remain nameless) to use a vintage Schwinn (26") frame from the 1960's era. You can find them on Ebay. I found mine for less than $100. If you start reading about these frames you will see that they are rock solid.

I've decided to go with a 4 stroke, leaning towards the 49cc Honda GXH with a Qmatic drive at this time. I only have a frame right now, so I'll be working on the paint job, taking my time and enjoying the experience.

I also want to run a tuned exhaust and hi performance air filter to help the engine breathe, without taking away any reliability.

One last thing...does anyone know where I can get a tuned exhaust for a Honda GXH?

Take care, Mike

I'd take with a huge grain of salt anyone claiming to be a "legend" in this and anyone calling another a "legend".

There are some things about an early Schwinn frame (or any clone of one) that make it a poor choice for this thing we do: