Newbie in the Great White North

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Blue Coupe, Dec 6, 2007.

1. Blue Coupe

Blue Coupe Guest

Greetings,

I have been lurking around this forum for a bit and I must say it has excellent tech. I'm new to motorized bicycles and it appears that there are lots of choices out there.

I live in Calgary, Alberta and I cycle all year around. Top speed really is not a factor, moreover off the line power to help navigate through the snow when the going gets tough (I suspect gearing will be a challenge).

These are my initial thoughts...(I realize there are appropriate locations in the forum to post the variety of ideas I have).

I'll be starting the engine at around -5 C and running around -10C to-25C for the winter months.

Electric - too heavy, poor range (especially with higher loads through snow and the cold).
    Friction drive (tire drive) - in snow, unlikely it will work well.
    Chain or ribbed belt - probably the best choice
    Engine Noise - the quieter the better
    Smoke - as little as possible
    Mounting - I like the idea of a rack mount, one of the pocket bike builds on this forum is awesome! I wonder how loud it is?
    Budget-middle of the road

I also need to consider to keep things low key, I do not want to annoy people on the bike paths regardless if it is legal or not (I have checked local laws).

Looking forward to learning more!

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 15, 2015

2. Danny3xd

Danny3xd Member

Hi Blue, great to meet ya and welcome!

3. Dockspa1

Dockspa1 Guest

Hello and welcome Coupe! Gatta admire riding through the winter up there.
    Doc

4. wavygravy

wavygravy Guest

hey coupe! my brother lives calgary! it sounds like your headed in the right direction! & welcome to the forum! your gonna love it here1

5. locoWelder

locoWelder Guest

Welcome to MBc

6. Abeagle

Abeagle Guest

Welcome to MBc

7. Alaskavan

Alaskavan Guest

Welcome to MBc.

8. mickey

mickey Guest

Welcome

9. iRide Customs