OK Experts, Riddle me this one

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by dougsr.874, Jan 8, 2013.

1. dougsr.874

dougsr.874 Active Member

I have built many, many, of these 49cc Chinese 2 stroke kits.....So I'm no newbie...I built one a few weeks ago and test rode it several miles and it worked fine....It set under my shed for about 3 weeks and then it simply would NOT start...The plug was firing, I replaced with a new carb and still no work..My very heathly son could pedal the bike with the clutch engaged, but with some effort.....Today, I pulled the engine apart thinking I would find a broken ring causing low comression..(Have no gauge)...the rings were fine, the cylinder was not scarred at all.....however, since I had an extra set of rings I replaced them.....reassembled the eninge, added a bit of gas to the tank, weather temp. was about 15 degrees warmer, and the engine started with one choking....so actually I did nothing to the engine.....could the old rings, (they were new) have been the problem?????I'm at a loss.

2. Tanstaafl

Tanstaafl Member

Just my opine, but think rings were stuck. To confirm or deny, put old rings back in, insure they are free and try a restart.

3. Samdallas214

Samdallas214 Member

had to be the rings

4. V 35

V 35 Member

Did the old rings remove easily ? Could have been a bad head gasket ? I could see gasket heating and sealing, than cooling down and leaking. May never know for sure .

5. Fabian

Fabian Well-Known Member

An engine needs fuel, air, compression and a correctly timed spark to work.

The process of elimination will be your best friend.

6. siouxindian

siouxindian Member

sometimes . things happens. ? .

7. Fabian

Fabian Well-Known Member

:iagree:

These engines are delightfully mysterious. Sometimes they do things which have no known explanation.

8. wally

wally Member