OK I'm here

tinman

Local time
10:49 PM
Well hello there, My names Rich and I'm from Ohio. I am new to the whole motor bike thing but I already know what I plan on building. I am going to build my own version of a gas powered Rhoades car.

I am a fabricator in the construction industry and have my own shop with the ability to have anything made fabed or machined so what is the hard part for most should be easy for me.

My major problem is I know nothing about bicycles. My main issue is how the axle system should work. Any diagrams or pointers will be much apprieciated. I would like a solid axle design so both wheels spin(posi-traction) but would like freewheel abilty for the peddles. The motor would also connect to the axle by either chain or belt drive.

Ok so this is me and what my plans are. I hope to hear from lots of you and look forward to every opinion and thought. Rich AKA tinman

Welcome.
Can't wait to see the car when done. Might need two engines, which would be totally cool.

Would a motorized version be legal since it has four wheels ? Or will it be considered an illegal automobile ? Please check first before you invest your time and $$$.

Well i'm not sure of the illegal car thing BUT, in my humble opinion, a four wheel bike is considered a bike. So if a 2 and 3 wheel peddle assist bike is allowed why shouldnt a 4 wheel one be. Since i am now not able to work due to a disability this is a project to give me a hobby and make somthing useful for me. If they give me grief for my "peddle assisted 4 wheel bike" that might be fun too. I have lots of free time on my hands now and playing with city haal could be amusing at worst.

A person in the position to dedicate his/her full time fighting for somthing they believe in is a powerful thing.