Exhaust Open exhaust

Discussion in '2-Stroke Engines' started by redpiper777, Oct 24, 2008.

1. redpiper777

redpiper777 Member

Hi I'm working on a board track racer and thought of making a custom exhaust that will carry more toward the rear of the bike...Not much of a muffler, more like an open straight pipe..I know it will be loud but does anyone know the pro's and con's to running an open pipe like this?

Thanks

2. fetor56

fetor56 Guest

About the only pro i can think of is it will be cheaper.The cons are you'll seize the engine;rather quickly.
    2-strokes are more touchy than 4-strokes but even then they both need that back pressure in order to operate properly.

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 25, 2008
  3. redpiper777

redpiper777 Member

Nuff said, that crazy idea is dead. Thanks

4. fetor56

fetor56 Guest

NP...see what other ppl say cos i'm no exhaust expert but that's my understanding of things(a certain amount of back pressure is absolutely necessary)

5. Mountainman

Mountainman Active Member

wonder where that back pressure video went ?

yes - especially with the two stroke

sorry - but - I am not sure where - here on site I saw
    a very cool video explaining importance of back pressure 2-stroke

ride that thing

6. jlebh1

jlebh1 Member

so how bad would it be to run a 2 stroke without the muffler just strait pipe bent to the style of the frame cause I want to do that to my HT on a stingray type bike

7. SimpleSimon

SimpleSimon Active Member

Not too bad if you can afford to replace the engine every 30 days or so, depending on how much you ride it. Back pressure in the exhaust system is an absolute necessity to running the engine - in its absence you'll burn it up pretty quickly.

8. macarollo

macarollo Guest