Painted Grubee Skyhawk

Discussion in '2-Stroke Engines' started by Motocruiser, Mar 6, 2011.

1. Motocruiser

Motocruiser Member

I'm new to motoredbiking. This is my second post. Just wanted to see what you all thought of my paint job on the Skyhawk. Seeing that I want to create a race inspired looking MB I thought about adding some numbers as well. What do you think?

Attached Files:

2. Fletch

Fletch Member

looks good. What kind of engine enamel did you use? Di you paint the air filter or happen to match? i see you have the new version of the CNS. Have you gotten a chance to compare it to the old one? Did the engine come black? If so, did you sand down and prep the edges of the cooling fins before you painted them red?

3. Motocruiser

Motocruiser Member

I used Dupli-Color engine enamel, Ford red. I didn't match the airfilter cover I painted it, as the cheap plastic looks more pink than red. The engine came black. I Prepped with a light sand on the head, fins, clutch cover, and heat shield. This is my first Engine so I haven't had the pleasure of Comparing the new CNS carb. to the NT carb. I'm still waiting on my American Flyer, it won't be here until April. Thought I'd take this waiting period to upgrade the engine. I'm going to replace all the hardware bolts, add an expansion chamber, new air filter.

4. motorpsycho

motorpsycho Active Member

If you're going to add an expansion chamber, then why did you waste time painting the heat shield on the muffler?
    or, are you going to use that muffler on the end of the chamber?
    Are you going to go with a new high flow k&n style air filter?
    if so, again, why did you waste time painting the stock air filter cover?

I think your engine looks great and you did a great job on the painting. I's the little details like this that will make your bike / engine stand out from the crowd.

5. shell shock

shell shock Member