piston rod broke

U

unintent

I think the piston rod broke. While I am VERY handy with tools, I am not a mechanic and do not know all the correct terms/jargon for things, so try not too laugh too hard when I get the name wrong.

Well I got the 70cc from dax and have been using it around 6 month and then all of sudden it starting making a loud constant banging noise from the piston area. I took off the head and it looks like the piston has broke away from the crank shaft. I didn't take the piston all the way out because it never quite came out far enough for me to grab a hold of. What I observed with the head off was when I turned the rear wheel by hand, with the clutch enaged the piston would indeed be pushed up but was not getting pulled down as I turned the wheel, so I guess the piston rod broke away from the piston. What I mean is as I turned the wheel, the piston would come up and then stay there. I would have to push donw on the piston for the action of the wheel turning to push the piston back up.

Reading through these post I didn't really find a detailed break down of this motor but it woule apear I am going to have to uninstall the motor and the engine block separates into two pieces.

Does anyone have any detailed directions for doing so I can avoid any "gotchas"? And more importantly is there a place where I can buy a new piston or piston rod or both if that is what I need? Also, might the rod be attached to piston with some kind of pin or nut and bolt and I can just possibly reattach the rod to the piston?

Do you think this is fixable?

Also I did find a piece of metal on top of the piston when i took the head off. The piston wall looked find as far down as i coudl see of it.

Well?

Thanks In advance for any reply.