Proposal of New Thread Design

Discussion in 'Forum Help & Suggestions' started by safe, Sep 26, 2009.

1. safe

safe Active Member

Proposal of New Thread Design

I've been posting on forums like this since 2006. Over time I've observed that conflicts develop because certain people do not get along well with other people.

Person A might like Person B... but not like Person C

Person B might like Person C, but not Person A

...and so on.

Most forums end up having moderators that take sides (we are all human) and in the end someone gets banned.

--------------------------------

What I propose is the idea that new threads are created so that the owner of the thread takes responsibility for moderating it himself. What this might translate to is some kind of "Friend List" or "Enemy List" for the thread where only certain people (based on the filtering rules) are allowed to post. Everyone can read the thread, but those that are "undesireable" based on the thread owner get excluded.

This is in essence like a "free market" idea rather than the present "top down" moderator concept.

This forum already has a thread that is "invitation only"... I wonder how hard this would be to apply universally to all threads?

Think of it this way... if the thread owner restricts a thread too much then they might not get anyone to post on it. So there is a benefit for the thread owner to be as open as possible, while still keeping in reserve the ability to protect the thread from abuse.

-----------------------------

With this it might be possible to more or less do away with the "infractions" process.

It might mean that people are never again banned... they might be "shunned" by most, but never completely banned. The offensive person is simply forced to stay within their own threads and out of others if they can't get anyone to let them in.