Engine Trouble Ran OK for a while, then died under way... Flying Horse 66cc

CheezballFH

Local time
8:35 PM
Hi

I was just starting to think that my gasbike was pretty reliable; it's been running for about 3 months now (I bought it from the guy who built and was riding it up until a couple of weeks ago). I have put only about 45 miles on it, and performance has been great, everything I hoped for. But today I was on my way home from the post office and it died on me going up a hill.

Fuel was pouring out of the carburetor (in back) all over the tranny housing, but I think that is what usually happens if it's warmed up and the engine's not sucking fuel: it just dribbles out. I shut the valve off every time I stop the engine. Is this normal? Or does this mean a carb malf which might account for the failure?

So. Umm. I have only had this thing a couple of weeks and now it's dead and I'm not sure where to start with diagnosis (newbie here). I don't even have the original FH manual (will a Skyhawk manual do? I have a good one of those).

Is there a checklist from most to least likely of "reasons for dying while in operation"?

Yes, I was fueled up :) The mix was about 30:1 using high-grade synthetic 2-stroke oil, which has been working fine so far. There was no lack of power up until the moment when it coughed and died. There was no spectacular cloud of evil-smelling smoke, no drama, no scary mechanical disaster sound effects, just a sudden slowdown and a quiet death. The block was not unusually hot (but it is an unusually hot day today if that is relevant). The choke was all the way off.

This is probably fixable, but as I say I am new to these engines and not sure what the checklist is for troubleshooting. I'll be digging into the skyhawk manual I downloaded when I got the bike, but comments from FH owners and hackers might be very useful in case there are differences.

darn, I was just getting to like the new toy :)