Rans Recumbent Update

seabillco

Local time
10:50 AM
Hi, all

I'm the guy who started the recumbent thread with my home built, 30cc Ryobi on a Rans Tailwind recumbent. I've been riding the bike for almost 2 years now and it's been a real joy.

I thought I should update my posting so everyone knows how reliable and durable and practical the MB can be, especially a recumbent!

Last year, I switched to a Subaru/Robin EH035 4 stroke engine for more power and less noise and it's been a major improvement. Also, I bought a friction kit from Bike Motor Parts so the bike is no longer as home made as it used to be. I still had to make several changes and enhancements because of the recumbent's unique design.

I also built a bike trailer from scratch and a 'hitch' for the bike. I can say more about that if anyone is interested.

Anyway, I've got 2,000 miles on this bike and I ride it whenever the weather is dry. The only problem has been a flat tire or two. No engine trouble and no friction drive problems. I use the 1" drive spindle and get about 30 MPH and about 180 MPG. It climbs hills well. You just can't beat the comfort of the recumbent. With the motor on it, it's the best transportation I've seen!

I'm attaching pictures of the latest iteration. The pictures show how I attach my metal detector to the bike so I can go treasure hunting (another hobby).

My only thought is that I wish I had a 26" rear wheel so I could try the belt drive kits. Most kits seem to require the 26" wheel. This would allow me to MB in the wet weather. If I were doing it again, I'd start with a recumbent that has a 26" rear wheel.

Happy MB to all!

Attachments

• MDBike1.jpg
    MDBike1.jpg
    20.7 KB · Views: 725
  • MDBike2.jpg
    MDBike2.jpg
    24.9 KB · Views: 612
  • MDBike3.jpg
    MDBike3.jpg
    39.7 KB · Views: 671
Thanks!

Hi,

Thanks for the link! It looks promising. I thought about cutting and welding but I didn't want to mess up the bike.