Rear tire and motor locked up

Discussion in '2-Stroke Engines' started by ayo2001, Oct 14, 2015.

1. ayo2001

ayo2001 Member

hello, i'm new to the motorized bicycle world and i'm having a bit of trouble with my 80cc engine (Chinese engine unfortunately) I was on my way back to my house when all of a sudden the bike comes to a complete stop and the back wheel locks up. I also saw smoke coming out of the cylinder . So i tried to pedal and get the engine running again but nothing happens and its really hard to pedal when i pop the clutch. I'm not sure if the engine is seized or what but i know its not the chain getting bunched up. I can still move the bike freely when i disengage the clutch but if i try to get the engine started up it doesn't do anything, it doesn't turn over ,no kind of noise , nothing. Any idea what the problem might be?

Attached Files:

2. crassius

crassius Well-Known Member

first, take out the spark plug & see if motor turns when you roll bike forward - if it does, then you might have nothing wrong except for a slipping clutch & the forum has info about adjusting cable & flower nut

if motor still doesn't turn, you'll need to open drive cover & clutch cover so you can see where turning stops when you roll the bike - many times you'll find a bad or missing woodruff key in one of the shafts when this happens

3. ayo2001

ayo2001 Member

ok the bike still rolls freely when i'm holding in the clutch and i can ride it like a normal bike, its just when i let go of the clutch it locks up and i can't pedal at all , but i'll check the drive cover and clutch cover

4. butre

butre Well-Known Member

if it's not slipping clutch then it's time for a teardown.

5. jaguar

jaguar Well-Known Member

it seized

6. ayo2001

ayo2001 Member