Road Trip!!

KenM

Local time
9:15 PM
Hi all , just wondering . I do not have an engine kit yet, or a bike to put it on for that matter. So I have no experience with a gas bike.
How reliable are these bikes in general?
Could you but a rear rack and some saddle bags, and some camping gear. And ride around for three or four weeks. Putting on 50 to 100 miles a day. Or would this Chinese stuff start falling apart?
Thanks for your time. Just thinking out loud!
Keep looking up! Ken.

all depends on how good a builder you are. I wouldn't hesitate to ride 1000 miles on my bike, but wouldn't ride half a mile on some of the bikes I've seen.

I wouldn't want to try something like that myself. It would be risky even for a good quality motorized bike using a Honda engine. Anything China made is not road trip proof. The hardware on Chinese kits is junk. Cheap, flimsy metal and bolts with poorly made threading. If you wanna do a road trip a touring motorcycle would be better for that but touring motorcycles aren't cheap. They can go for $25k sometimes unless you get lucky on Craigslist even then someone would want $10k or more for it.

Motorized bikes are meant for short commutes around town raining from 2 to 10 miles a day. I wanted to build a motorized bike originally because I don't get out of town much. You could try getting a kit and making improvements and upgrades to the hardware to make it more reliable but that also can be costly depending on what you want. I'm going with a Staton Inc. friction kit made in USA and Honda 35cc motor for my current build but I wouldn't wanna take it on a long road trip.

think of it as a 1920s model T - even if well built, carry tools - most of what may go wrong is easily fixable

Thank you all for your input.
That is just what I was thinking about. You need a BIG tool bag, and an even BIGGER spare parts bag!
My wife would make me live outside if I ever whent on a three week trip anyway!