Safe, Easy, Practical, Friction Budget Bike Advice for N00bs...

j0nnyfive

Local time
8:23 AM
Hello everybody! I'm new here. I think what you guys (and gals) are doing is
awesome. I'm ready to build myself one of those MB THINGs(tm)!

Now, I've been lurking on here for quite a while, reading, pondering, taking notes, trying to figure out what I want, and I have a few questions for anyone willing to lend a fella a helping hand. I think this thread might also answer some questions for some other noobs like myself, so here goes.

My goal is this: Budget, Safe, Cost-effective commuter bike... on a budget. ;) AKA: Boring. lol

My situation is this: I own a car. I want to minimize my time driving it.
I would rather ride the bike, however I do not want to ride in bad weather.
I'm not a mechanic/handyman kind of guy. I can assemble things and change
flats and oil. (computer programmer kind of guy.) I'm not knocking chain and belt drives, its just that I've chosen friction drive for my own OCD reasons. lol

My angle is this: I could buy a scooter... or I could build an MB, THING. I would rather build an MB thing because it's cheaper, gets better gas mileage, and they look cool, unique, fun to ride, and fun to make.

HOWEVER... after searching and reading, I still have some questions. Here they are:

1. Which current friction drive kit do you guys think will LAST the longest in
terms of wear, tear, repair, and mileage? Which is most cost effective, and easiest to maintain? Which seems the most practical in terms of changing rollers?

2. Frames. Steel, or aluminum in terms of safety, longevity, and mileage?
How does each differ with vibration? Steel cheaper? Is steel limited to
cruisers? (I'm leaning towards the cruiser bike anyway.)

3. Brakes. What are the relatively safest type with cost, longevity,
practicality, and friction drives in mind?

4. Suspension. Is it necessary? Does it make the bike any safer? Does the