Schwinn Motorized Tricycle?

Johnny10

Local time
2:22 AM
Hi folks, I am brand new to motorized bicycling and found this forum to ask some experts a couple of things.

A couple of weeks ago I bought my wife a Schwinn 26" tricycle and then we found out she has to have replacement knee surgery, so I am entertaining the idea of trying to "motorize" it for her.

Question #1: Has anyone out there done this before? (don't want to try and reinvent the wheel)

Question #2: Which engine and which kit would do the best job at a reasonable price and what company should I buy it from?

I look forward to some dialog!

Happy days!

I've seen a few motorized tricycles on here, so it can be done. Look around, you never know what you'll find!

Welcome to the forum. I think we have a tricycle and recumbent subforum on this site.

Trike

Hey johnny10, Welcome to MB.c
I've built a couple of trikes. One full size 26" and one recumbent, (sort of.) On the recumbent I cheated and married a gocart frame to a goped. I've been riding it for about two years now, no problem.
Building a trike is a LOT more complicated than just building a two wheeler. also, unless it's a low center of gravity bike, it can, unless you're very carefull, Flip very easily.
Anyway, just to give you some idea's, I'll include some pic's of my builds.
Good luck,
Big Red.
Was having computer problems, Got it now.

Attachments

• SUNP0015.jpg
    SUNP0015.jpg
    125.8 KB · Views: 4,078
  • SUNP0032.jpg
    SUNP0032.jpg
    107 KB · Views: 4,578
  • SUNP0026.jpg
    SUNP0026.jpg
    98.5 KB · Views: 1,353
  • SUNP0027.jpg
    SUNP0027.jpg
    93.1 KB · Views: 1,289
Last edited:
Beautiful trike Big Red, but I want to add a motor to an existing new 26" Schwinn "womens" tricycle, this is not looking to promising.

Hi Johnny10 -