Silly problem

Discussion in '2-Stroke Engines' started by mike93082, Feb 25, 2010.

1. mike93082

mike93082 New Member

I am new at this and got a Grubee 66cc kit. I was doing the install to a Huffy Cranbrook but the wheel bearing in the back tire was discovered to be bad before I even got to ride it and I didnt really like the feel of the bike either.

I want a mountain bike but everywhere I check the v in the frame is not big enough. The engine is a slant head and the spark plug will touch the top bar or the carb gets in the way. I have tried thrift shops but they have nothing.

Can someone recommend a bike or tell me what type of bike they are using?

2. Crobo

Crobo New Member

i just put a flying horse 66cc on my huffy mountain bike. the spark plug and cover clear by a few mm. so much so that to get teh cover on and off i need to loosen the motor mounts to remove the cover and just the plug. its a bit annoying but i like the feel of the bike.
  3. MikeJ

MikeJ Member

You are right, thrift stores and Goodwill (a respectable store) has never had what I wanted to place an engine in. I found that pawn shops *might* have something. I ended up calling around to bike shops that handled recycled bikes. Get familiar with Craig's List for your area. Home garage bike recyclers do exist for a little spending money.

I have seen Haro V3, Mtn Tek Extreme, Specialized Rockhopper, and Schwinn all take engines large and small. Just keep looking in out-of-the-way places. Buy replacement parts from a bike store. Take the engine with you when shopping and test fit it into multiple frames. You will find something; everyone else has.

4. Crobo

Crobo New Member

i can just see it now, carrying around a 20+lb motor.

excuse me sir what is that?

a motor*grin*

but fitting a bike to a motor is def an easier way to go that the other way around and in the end will make for an easier install
  5. AussieSteve

AussieSteve Active Member