Starter / Generator Available for Genuine TLE43?

Proudest Monkey

Local time
8:16 PM
Hey guys,

I'm a noob here, I just registered a few days ago, but I've been visiting the forums for awhile now. Thanks largely to this site, I decided to buy an FD unit (with a name brand motor).
I ended up ordering a Mitsubishi TLE43 FD kit from Dimension Edge, and I'm counting the hours until the UPS guy knocks on the door.

Anyhow...I've found threads on here talking about starter / generator units for the 49cc Mitsu clones, and I was just wondering if you could use one of these starters on the real Mitsus, or if there were an OEM starter maybe???

I'm gonna keep running my cluster of AA powered head & tail lights for now, but I wanted an easy way to charge a 12v motorcycle battery whenever the engine is running.

Any help would be muchos nachos.
Thanks

John

I took the starter/generator off an old clone engine, and took some measurements. The TLE43 mounting holes for the pull starter don't have the same hole pattern as the clone, so, unless you rig up an adapter, it won't work.

Thanks Loquin!

Actually, after I posted the question and really started to think about it...what with the potential hp loss of running a generator, I decided to maybe look into a solar trickle charger instead.

Thanks for taking those measurements and answering my question!

Hey Loquin,

The more I keep thinking about it, I'd like to go ahead and buy the generator just to have it as an option (I have a couple of machinist friends, so fabrication shouldn't be a problem). I know I'll have to get a voltage regulator etc., but I"d love to have a simple, lightweight way to charge my ATV battery (if it's do-able).

Is this a pretty good representation of the old Mitsu clone that you were talking about measuring?
http://www.fancyscooters.com/item02386-scooter-part-whole-engine-49cchs-2-stroke.html

If so, could you take a look at the following links, and tell me if any of these would be strong contenders?