stopping cagers running red lights

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by bluegoatwoods, Jun 23, 2008.

1. bluegoatwoods

bluegoatwoods Well-Known Member

I've had an idea for years. I've even spread it around a bit, but no response. Let's see how it goes over here.

Why not paint a line right across the road at such a distance that, if you are driving the speed limit, you'll still make it through on the yellow light? You see what I'm getting at; if you haven't passed this line yet when the light turns yellow, then you're not going to make it before the red.

I'm a pretty careful driver with pretty good judgement about how much time and space I have before approaching cars, stationary objects, red lights hit me. But I'll occasionally mis-judge; plow through a light that has turned red or slam my truck to an unnecessary stop. And watching other drivers I can see that there is worse judgement than mine out there. This would take away a lot of that uncertainty you'll see out there; "Can I make it?"

This has little to do with motor assisted bicycling, of course. But maybe it'll ease some of our potential for being T-boned. And it would cost next to nothing and anyone could understand it after seeing it just once or twice. Especially if this line were labelled.

2. SimpleSimon

SimpleSimon Active Member

I'd prefer that for those intersections where such is a habit in the community (pretty easy to identify) have snap up truck bomb stoppers in place, triggered by radar. You drive too fast for the conditions, you wanna run red lights? Your vehicle gets shortened by a high speed impact with an immovable object.

But that's just me - I live in a town that's full of idiots who treat yellow lights as acceleration warnings, and run red lights constantly, as much as 8-10 seconds after they turned red. A green light here really means proceed with extreme caution. Even the bleeding cops run the reds here, no lights, no sirens.
  3. BSA

BSA Guest

That is actually a genius idea.