Turning engine around to simplify shift kit

Etpm

Local time
11:14 PM
Greetings,
This is my first post. I am looking at shift kits for the two stroke engines and it seems to me like there is a lot of extra stuff spinning around with the consequent drag. Since the engines are piston ported and the crankcase opening appears symmetrical, why couldn't the engine crankcase be turned around with the cylinder, and perhaps piston, turned around, and the mag coil repositioned, to make the engine run backwards? This would eliminate the jackshaft, a couple sprockets, bearings, mounts, a chain, etc. Anybody done this?
Eric

Nothing about this seems extremely difficult... I'm very interested in hearing more opinions on this, as i am not an HT expert. But I am looking into an SBP shift kit for mine.

There's a thing engine designers do which is called desaxe. The cylinder is placed a few thou to one side of being truly central with the crankshaft. This reduces load on the thrust face of the piston when power is developed. If you run the engine backwards, as I think you mean, the wrong face will become loaded and failure more likely.

Check it out, remember the mantra of the old engineers, measure twice, cut once.