Using the existing drivetrain and shift mechanism?

svejkovat

Local time
3:13 AM
New here. I posted in the welcome section. Just wanted to get a lead on any discussion here of the following..

I'd like to connect a motor via a freewheeling sproket on left side of the pedal crank. It would be a very low torque (26cc Ryobi) 4 cycle. Just musing over the options in my head, this seems like it would be a pretty foolproof way to make use of the existing gear ratios and derailleurs of my present mountain bike.

What would be stellar would be a freewheel single sprocket that is actually dedicated to this task. If not available, I might try to build the thing. But basically it would have to engage the shaft in reverse of the standard right hand mounted freewheel, and it would have some simple cable actuated clutch within to start the motor.

Please tell me that this is actually an off-the-shelf item!

Last edited:
Ok, you can tell I'm new at this. Upon second thought, I realized that I'd need to have some centrifugal engagement at the motor unless I incorporated a second hand-clutch for idling (more complication). With a crank mounted motor engagement, that screws the pooch for the centrifugal clutch. If I cable-engage the motor nearer the motor's shaft, that means cranking up all that gear/chain reduction when pedaling while the motor is not in use... not really very good. Hmmmmm.

Hang it all! That's evidently why my Puch moped has the motor engagement mechanism inside the transmission. It would be much better placed at the back sprocket on the wheel. In that case, you could actally pedal the thing without having to spin the motor drive chain and half of the motor transmission gearing (truly exhausting and impractial).