Voltage,amp,wattage,range relationship

dougsr.874

Local time
10:32 PM
Obviously, from the question I am a novice with electric hub motors. My question is: for the most range with SLA batteries, what is the best size kit to buy. I understand that the more watts the higher speed..whats best all other circumstances being equal...a 500watt motor on 36 volts , or a 500 watt motor on more or less volts...I did a search but found nothing...

P = I x E
where
P = Power in Watts,
I = Current in Amps, and
E = Voltage​

For a given wattage, the higher the voltage, the lower the current.

This means that, with all other things being equal, if the system/motor wire gage is the same, the I*R heat losses will be less, and the system efficiency will be higher. If, on the other hand, the motor/system is sized with a smaller gage of wire, so that the percentage of power loss is approximately the same, the system will be lighter (there's less copper) and with less weight to haul around, the efficiency will be greater.

Also, any semiconductor forward voltage drops (silicon diodes have a 0.6 volt drop, for instance) will be a lower percentage of the system voltage, again raising efficiency by a bit.

Last edited:
I had an electric bike. More voltage gets you better power and speed but the range depends on the rating of the batteries. One way to get more range is increase the voltage but don't ride full throttle.

Voltage determines motor RPM, a specific motor will spin faster with higher voltage...

so a 36v kit, meant to do 20mph in a 26" wheel, will go roughly 25 mph at 48v

Amps determine how much pull / acceleration ability / total wattage your kit will consume..

Volts x Amps = Watts

a kit has a " controller " that allows you to use a throttle to regulate your speed, this controller has a fixed " Max Amps " setting that it will not permit the motor to exceed.. most are 20 amps max..

so in this example, 36v x 20 amps = 720w peak power, this is roughly called a " 500w " kit.