Want Motorize A One Speed Schwinn

clintonhorner

Local time
12:24 AM
I have a nice old Schwinn cruiser coaster brake bike that I want to motorize. I would like any advice on the best value motor kit to purchase, and I am concerned about the braking. I think it best to add a front brake to improve braking. I have never done this so help me out you motor heads and get me rolling!

One speed schwinn

Please give more info. What year model.

I have a 1950 roadmaster. I use a 66cc HT engine and a coaster brake. It is hard getting used to having your foot cocked to put the brake on. I would never tell anyone to not put a front brake on thier bike. The more braking power the better.
I am not interested in top end speed. I use a 44 tooth sprocket and cruise comfortably at 20 MPH.
Also front end suspension is also a plus.

Attachments

• roadmaster motor 2 002.JPG
    roadmaster motor 2 002.JPG
    223.1 KB · Views: 166
Tight Ride

James thats a sweet ride. Front brake good. You'll have to bend the brake arm in to a Z shape to clear the new sprocket use a vise and or heat dont F it up. Grubee is all that i have and it is very reiable. I am gonna get another fires quick. after initial fire up. Grubee 66cc. http://s1019.photobucket.com/home/lazieboy1

Welcome to the forum!
The engine install has been covered on this site; ad nauseaum. As for the front brake, go to your LBS, buy a caliper kit, and install it. They are easy to install. Ask for a linear or v type caliper. Stay away from the side pull ones.

Check out this thread, It can help you out immensely:
http://motoredbikes.com/showthread.php?t=10392

Thanks for the advice

Thanks for everyones helpful advice. James, that is a very sweet ride you have! I read through the " crash course" and found it helpful. As a newbie, I will try to do as much research as possible and do my best not to ask to many silly questions!