Want Motorize A One Speed Schwinn

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by clintonhorner, Jul 6, 2010.

1. clintonhorner

clintonhorner New Member

I have a nice old Schwinn cruiser coaster brake bike that I want to motorize. I would like any advice on the best value motor kit to purchase, and I am concerned about the braking. I think it best to add a front brake to improve braking. I have never done this so help me out you motor heads and get me rolling!

2. james65

james65 Member

One speed schwinn

Please give more info. What year model.

I have a 1950 roadmaster. I use a 66cc HT engine and a coaster brake. It is hard getting used to having your foot cocked to put the brake on. I would never tell anyone to not put a front brake on thier bike. The more braking power the better.
    I am not interested in top end speed. I use a 44 tooth sprocket and cruise comfortably at 20 MPH.
    Also front end suspension is also a plus.

Attached Files:

3. Lazieboy

Lazieboy Member

Tight Ride

James thats a sweet ride. Front brake good. You'll have to bend the brake arm in to a Z shape to clear the new sprocket use a vise and or heat dont F it up. Grubee is all that i have and it is very reiable. I am gonna get another fires quick. after initial fire up. Grubee 66cc. http://s1019.photobucket.com/home/lazieboy1
  4. Lazieboy

Lazieboy Member

LZ1 is a Coaster brake.
  5. GearNut

GearNut Active Member

Welcome to the forum!
    The engine install has been covered on this site; ad nauseaum. As for the front brake, go to your LBS, buy a caliper kit, and install it. They are easy to install. Ask for a linear or v type caliper. Stay away from the side pull ones.

Check out this thread, It can help you out immensely:
  6. Lazieboy

Lazieboy Member

Side pull sux in rear. (back tire) but is cool in front.
  7. clintonhorner

clintonhorner New Member

Thanks for the advice