What gas tank styles would you choose???

Status
Not open for further replies.

gppeej

Local time
4:19 AM
Hello all,

I'm waiting on a BB80cc kit...but already know that I want to replace the standard common gas tank with something more stylish. I see plenty of home-made examples in the threads. Also, I'm guessing that if there was 10 different tank styles to choose from...that all 10 might find equal popularity.

My search started by searching for tanks from 1 to 6 liters that would be appropriate. Some classic moped tanks work, and mini chopper tanks look good too. Now, I'm not good at getting pics up, but I'll need to learn. Basically, the mini chopper tanks are small versions of full size chopper tanks and have nice lines. Peanut, coffin, teardrop, streched teardrop, pod, arched pod, etc, are all availible in mini tanks. But...here's where the rub comes in. Since importers for mini choppers and pocket bikes buy containers of boxed units, and rarely buy spare parts or have any spares inventory, most could never even sell me a replacement tank...let alone fill an order for 100 tanks.

Additionally, classic vintage designs like Cyclone BT, square underbar, humpback, squarebacks, cafes, etc aren't availible at all, except for one off.

So...I sent out some letters of inquiry to ten tank manufacturers. Most of them were quick to respond. The short of this is:

They will sell tanks in small batches of 100 - 1000 units.
They will produce any tank style from pictures or models.
They will follow provided spec to produce a new style if needed.

Very cool, the manufacturers are hungry and willing to take small jobs. So, I see a business opportunity here and am actively researching it. I'll admit to having entrepreneurial aspirations, so I am looking for opportunities. Conversly, I like the co-op business structure and firmly believe that "all boats rise with the tide".

Who wants a different gas tank???

TANKS or just silly hats