What have you folks done to me!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Motorbike Wanabe, Nov 15, 2009.

1. I've been studying the cruiser section of Wal-Mart, looking at the wide white wearin' beach cruisers that they've been offering and I've always threatened to my wife that I should build one like an old cruiser motorcycle. She has always shrugged it off and dismissed me as a harmless tinkerer with hopes and aspirations, misguided or not.

Well, then I come across this forum. Why did you guys do this to me!!????? I'm purchasing a men's Delmar bike this weekend and I'm studying a BUNCH of old Indian photos to pick up some of the cues that would just make it cool. My son and I just went out today to do some comparing and we decided on the Delmar bike because it has the most to offer and, mostly, it already has black frame. That is important. I'll be painting the fenders and stuff and doing a few other things to make it more "authentic" but I'm so freakin' excited about getting started on this thing, it's unreal.

Now, this may get me in trouble here but, I was actually surprised how economically someone could put together a really cool bike! I've dabbled in Corvettes for a few years and man, 300 dollars was the buy-in price for about any part, even used! I'm planning on having not much more in this bike, motor and all! We'll see what it turns out to be but I'm ready to get started.

Here's what I will be starting with. I'll be attacking this job in stages. The plan for the first stage is to get the bike, paint the fenders and stuff and re-assemble the bike with some other goodies that I've located.

Now, should I continue to post the build-up here or is there a better place to do such a thread?

Attached Files:

2. fetor56

fetor56 Guest

G'day & welcome.
    Search & read as much as u can man,particularly about brakes & fenders.