Which is better - to construct or buy whole bike with engine?

John-Forrest

Local time
6:11 PM
I live in Amherst MA where there are a lot of bikes, bike lanes, and bike paths. I've been riding my regular bicycle a lot. I've had a Chinese motorcycle, a Tank Vision, which has turned out to be a real lemon, just sitting in the shop without parts.

I'm debating whether to purchase an engine and put it on bike - to just get whole thing put together. I'm not very good with tools and mechanics, so I'd have to get help to put engine and sprocket on. It'd probably be less expensive, since I can get bike local and ship engine in. Also, anoter advantage, is I'd know engine inside and out, so I could do my own repairs/diagnosis. Parts are probably easier to get that way, since these places provide parts.

Has anyone had experience with Zoombicycles. The engines are reasonably priced and he seems to provide all the parts. It's a place in British Columbia.

I've seen some very nice bikes on ebay that are already put together. One place I saw was was from a company called "Wonderful Creations"; another place is "WildFire Bicycles". I'd like to know if anyone knows about those or has had personal experience with them. Schiwnn has some bikes all put together. Some of those bikes look too good to be true; I certainly don't want to get another lemon with no support.

Well, if anyone has suggestions or personal experience with the companies I mentioned - let me know.

With rising gas prices, I have a feeling this is going to be a growing trend. They've already crossed that bridge in Europe and Asia - now it's America's turn!

John-Forrest Bamberger

Last edited:
I've had a Chinese motorcycle, a Tank Vision, which has turned out to be a real lemon
enuff sed...and you said it, not me.

do your homework...read and ask...read some more and ask some more...

welcome aboard :cool:

Last edited: