Whizzer H rod bolt retainer wire.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Traveler

Local time
9:00 PM
I recently replaced the rod insert bearings on my Whizzer H engine. I noticed while removing the screws that the retainer wire is missing that helps prevent the allen screws from coming loose. What is a good replacement wire to thread through the allen screws that hold the bottom in place? Would thin music wire work, or should it be more flexible. Thanks for any advice.

Lock wire

Traveler,
There's 2 common sizes of lockwire, .028 and .032. My local Napa carries both sizes. If you can't find it I'll send you some.
Mark

Sorry. I hadn't been on the forum in a few days. I did get the reply. Thanks. I have already bought some 18 gauge steel wire, and am getting it through the small holes in the rod bolts. I've never done this before. I am assuming the bolts need to be tightened first. After they are tightened, the holes are too hard to access.

Hi Traveler,

On most rods the allen bolts usually allow the wire to travel through both holes. It will still hold if you only run the wire in one hole in each rod bolt. Some of the vintage pictures show the wire going completely through the head of each allen and then crossing the bottom of the rod. Other pictures show a single wire entering the allen part of the rod bolt and leaving the bolt via one hole, then bent over to hold it in place.