Will it fit? 48cc frame mount to a Walmart Hyper Havoc?

Discussion in 'Frame Mounted Engines' started by JRowe, Jun 30, 2014.

1. JRowe

JRowe New Member

So I'm looking for a budget bike. I have a few candidates, but I'm leaning toward this bike.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/26-Hyper-...bucket_id=irsbucketdefault&findingMethod=p13n

I'm new to bicycles in general, so I'm not sure what this type of frame is called, but was wondering if I would have major issues fitting a 48cc engine to the frame?

http://www.bikeberry.com/48cc-mega-...-stroke.html?gclid=CNej2vH2or8CFQGtaQodOR8Amg is the kit I'm looking at.

My goal is to keep it under $300 and under 50cc, and I have some friends at work that want to join me.

0068067400894_500X500.jpg

Last edited: Jun 30, 2014

2. bmg50cal

bmg50cal New Member

Too beaucoup!!!

3. dougsr.874

dougsr.874 Active Member

You really can't be serious.

4. JRowe

JRowe New Member

Lol, thanks for the constructive comment, Doug. :rolleyes7:

So it looks like it won't fit? Alright, back to searching other readily obtained cheap bikes.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/29-Genesi...bucket_id=irsbucketdefault&findingMethod=p13n

This one looks doable, with a forum thread already showing a build, even though its not full suspension:
    http://www.motoredbikes.com/showthread.php?28325-Walmart-GENESIS-29ner-MTB

I'm scouring Craigslist for bikes as well. Any recommendations for cheap big box bikes?

5. dougsr.874

dougsr.874 Active Member

DO NOT try to motorize the Genesis that is pictured in your link to Walmart......1st problem...carb will not fit in frame unless you buy an offset intake...but, the worst problem is that the bikeframe takes an inward curve on the lower part of the frame next to the back wheel....causing the motor chain NOT to clear the frame....The Genesis ONEX can be motorized quite easily.

6. JRowe

JRowe New Member