Zen, and the Art of the SkyHawk GT2B 48cc

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Norm in Laguna, Jul 9, 2010.

1. Norm in Laguna

Norm in Laguna New Member

Ok. Let's talk Chinese Engines. Heck, lets talk any of these little engines. I'm seeing a pattern here. I read a post from a guy the other day. He said his buddy was coming into town, and he wanted to put an engine on his bike and he was going to go on a trip with it the next day. Anybody besides me see a problem there? Too many people want it RIGHT NOW! I WANT IT-I WANT IT-I WANT IT!! GIMME GIMME GIMME! I listened to that from my kid when he was 3, but I cured him of it pretty fast. Does ANYBODY Else besides me take the time, do it right and break the engine in like they ask you to? It took me a week of creeping around like a snail to get through a tank of gas for the break-in. I've been riding my GT2B angle fire for about 3 months now. I ride it every day, it's all I use for transpo. I live in an area that is nothing but hills almost everywhere I go. Up-down, up-down. I ride an average of 30 miles a day. My longest trip so far was 63 miles. I go about 20-25 mph. The only problems I've had, are with the cheap bike I bought. [who's fault is that?] And so far that hasn't even been a real biggy. I've still got some mods to do, but it's all still a work in progress.
    Back to the engine. Granted, I've only been running it for a few months. But I have to tell you, I'm pretty impressed with this little engine. If it goes for the 5000 miles they say it will, or even close, I'm a happy camper. It's got plenty of power to haul my buck 65 around, it's quiet, fairly smooth, and runs like a top. I go over everything before I ride, [takes less than 5 minutes] and I have a blast. I go from Laguna Niguel down to San Clemente for coffee in the morning, takes me 25 minutes to go the 15 miles or so at a nice old guy pace. And it looks soooo coool. Check out my pics.