In Delaware a motorized bicycle is classified as a moped/tri-ped and so a valid license and registration is required to ride it on public roads.
You need a valid DE drivers license to ride a motorized bicycle in Delaware.
Registration for a motorized bicycle costs $5 for 3 years in Delaware.
Other Motorized Bicycle Laws
The law for motorized bicycles in Delaware also states that you need the following:
In Delaware, you cannot ride a motorized bicycle on interstate highways, limited access highways or on designated bicycle paths unless the motor is turned off.
- A light on the front and rear of your bicycle
- A bell or horn
- A helmet must be worn
- Bright colored clothing is recommended