Georgia Motorized Bicycle Laws

Georgia Motorized Bicycle Laws

A motorized bicycle is classified as a moped in Georgia. A moped is defined as a a motor-driven cycle with an engine no bigger than 50cc.

License

A valid drivers license is required to ride a motorized bicycle in Georgia and you must be at least 15 years old.

Registration

Motorized bicycles are not required to be registered or titled in Georgia as long as:

  • the motor is less than 50cc.
  • it doesn't exceed 30mph.
  • it has an automatic transmission

If the engine is larger than 51cc then the motorized bicycle must be registered as a motorcycle.

Other Motorized Bicycle Laws


Georgia also has some other motorized bicycle requirements when riding on public roads:

  • You can only ride your motorized bicycle on a public road that has a speed limit of 35 mph or less.
  • A helmet is required to be worn.
Author
Anton
First release
Last update
Rating
0.00 star(s) 0 ratings

More resources from Anton


Top