Under Louisiana laws a motorized bicycle is classed as a moped. A moped is defied as a motor powered bicycle with:
- Up to 1.5hp.
- An engine up to 50cc.
- A top speed of 25mph.
- An automatic transmission.
You must be of at least 15 years of age and posses a drivers license with a motorcycle endorsement to ride a motorized bicycle in Louisiana.
A motorized bicycle must be registered to ride it on public roads in Louisiana. You can not ride it on footpaths, interstate highways or impede traffic flow.
Vehicles that exceed the motorized bicycle limits are considered motorcycles.