New Jersey Motorized Bicycle Laws

New Jersey Motorized Bicycle Laws

In New Jersey a motorized bicycle is defined as a moped. A moped is a bicycle with a helper motor. To be classed as a moped your bicycle must:
  • have a motor less than 50cc
  • a speed no greater than 25mph
  • an engine of no more than 1.5bhp
  • be classified as a pedal bicycle

License

To ride a motorized bicycle in New Jersey you will need a valid drivers license or a moped license. To obtain a moped license you need to be at least 15 years old.

Registration

To ride a motorized bicycle on public roads in New Jersey you will need to title and register it. You will need to bring along the manufacturers certificate or origin if new or the current title and registration papers if second hand. You will also need the Bill of Sale and proof of insurance.
Author
Anton
First release
Last update
Rating
0.00 star(s) 0 ratings

More resources from Anton


Top