According to North Carolina law, a motorized bicycle is considered a moped. A moped has:
- two or three wheels.
- no external shifter.
- a motor not to exceed 50 cubic centimeters of piston displacement.
- a top speed of no more than 30 mph propulsion on a level surface.
To ride a motorized bicycle in North Carolina you do not need a license but you must be at least 16 years old.
To ride a motorized bicycle on public roads in North Carolina it must be registered.
You will need to submit the following to the North Carolina DMV:
- A valid North Carolina license OR ID card
- The Manufacturers Certificate of Origin
- Relative paperwork for registering a moped
Other Motorized Bicycle Laws
- You must wear a helmet at all times.
- Carry vehicle insurance.