A motorized bicycle according to North Dakota law is defined as any bike with:
- 2 to 3 wheels.
- Footrests or foot pedals.
- A motor capable of achieving a maximum speed of 30mph on a level surface.
- An automatic drive system.
- A body that's no wider than 32 inches.
To ride a motorized bicycle in North Dakota all you need is a valid operators permit, a temporary permit, an instruction permit, or a motorcycle permit. If you are 14 years old you can apply for a motorized bicycle operators permit.
To ride a motorized bicycle on public roads in North Dakota, it must be register. To obtain registration you must provide the motor vehicles office with:
- A Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (which must show the moped's engine size and maximum speed capacity.)
- An odometer certification.
- Insurance proof.
- $25 for the registration fee
- $5 for the title fee