A motorized bicycle is classed as a moped in Virginia. A moped is defined as a vehicle which:
- Has no more than 3 wheels that are in contact with the road.
- Has a seat that is no lower than 24 inches in height.
- Has a gasoline motor that is less than 50cc
- Has a maximum speed of less than 35mph.
You do not need a drivers license to ride a motorized bicycle in Virginia but you must be at least 16 years of age.
A motorized bicycle must be registered and titled to ride it legally on public roads in Virginia. You do not need a safety inspection or insurance.
Other Motorized Bicycle Laws
- The maximum speed you are allowed to travel at is 35mph.
- You must be at least 16 years old and carry government issued ID with you.
- Helmets must be worn by driver and passenger.
- Face shield or safety goggles must be worn by the driver if you do not have a windshield.
- You are not allowed to ride on interstate highways.
- You can not ride if your license has been suspended.
- Earphones are not allowed to be worn.