2 stroke of 4 stroke for running dogs?

Mohawk Dave

Local time
6:21 PM
Hi all,

I'm a newb to motored bikes, but I grew up riding 2 stroke Moto-x and 4 stroke everything else.

One of my K9s can/will run 6+ miles. I have bad knees from jumping, hooah! so I don't run that far anymore. I like to use my ATC with him but that's not too cool for the neighbors.

I believe a 4 stroke would be better for really slow speeds as opposed to carbon build up on the 2 stroke. I think the 4 stroke will be quieter as well, even if I need to change/upgrade the muffler.

I do not need to go fast as I have other toys for that. This is just a dog running adventure.

I just bought a cheapie Walmart bike, the Columbia 1937 beach cruiser thing that I will be using. (Photo attached)

And unless you tell me otherwise, I was going to order from CaliforniaMotorbikes. I read reviews on here, and saw some positive and some negative. So not sure....

Thanks for everything and awesome forum! -Dave

Attachments

• 1937.jpg
    1937.jpg
    27.9 KB · Views: 129
I think a decent harness for the dogs would be best, and a single axle wagon deal with a small seat, they will have no trouble pulling you on it

I think a decent harness for the dogs would be best, and a single axle wagon deal with a small seat, they will have no trouble pulling you on it

Thanks for thinking outside the box, but that's not what we're looking for. We live in a pretty hilly area, even though it has very nice paved streets. My other dog, a 10 year old Brazilian Mastiff is not able to pull (old hips) but she can walk/trot several miles: so, alas, the motorized bike is the ticket. (I want a RadRover electric, but that will come later).

I would suggest electric. Surely that pretend gas tank can be put to some actual use, like to house the batteries (with vent holes added)?

6+ miles isn't exactly much. How many legs does your dog have? :eek: Is it a miniature dachshund? :p