3 speed hubs

bikewithmotor

Local time
6:01 PM
I was reading a post on 3 speed hubs, where it was jumping out of gear, assuming the hub is in good working order, there is a fix for this on the sturmey archer site. where you modify the lugs with a spring, to keep it in gear.
The AW hubs are the best to use, the SW hubs were known to slip out of gear.
I hope this helps those using the hubs. Further when shifting these hubs you must back off the throttle to allow the hub to shift into and out of gear.

Welcome to the forum.

I've been using an X-RD3 for almost 2 years now, with a 4-stroke 49cc routed through it. Instead of the included grip shifter, I use a Sturmey classic trigger instead. I have over 5K miles on it.

The first 6 months or so, I never backed off the throttle when up-shifting. I just clicked the trigger and she slammed home, sometimes full throttle, sometimes just pedaling hard. Down-shifting definitely requires backing off on the throttle, even when pedaling. But I "power-shifted" that thing for a good while. I've never had problems with it staying in gear, nor has it ever jumped out of gear. As with any conventional IGH, cable adjustment is key.

Many of the '60-90's British Sturmeys were problematic. When SunRace took over, they had all of the original tooling sent to Taiwan and found out the tooling was worn out beyond repair. So they got new machines. These Taiwan Sturmey hubs are easily as good as any of the '50's and earlier British Sturmey IGHs.