3 speed Sturmey Archer hub as a jackshaft

professor

Local time
1:57 PM
I have been using one on bike #1 for a couple of years and love it.
That bike has a HF79 greyhound for power. It is geared to top out at just over 30 mph.

I decided to put one on bike #2 which has a HF212 black motor.

This bike has full suspension with moped wheels, front end and seat.
Rides like a dream. The engine has enough torque to easily get going ( idle speed is 10 mph in gear) but the vibration and engine noise / buisyness gets to me, so I want gears to flatten the rpm.

Note- these big engines vibrate BAD, real BAD, so mine is mounted with rubber isolators (6 of them).
If you are thinking about doing a 4 stroke, I recommend staying down below 100 ccs. The difference is unbelievable.}

I found some wheels on Craiglist that had a hub, so I cut the spokes and started adapting the hub. On both bikes a primary jackshaft is needed to send the power to the right side of the bike.

Hardest part is welding the pulley/ sprocket on.
I am using belt to the hub - so I welded a pulley to the existing sprocket by cutting out the hub portion of the pulley (steel stamped type) & centering it by locking the hub axle in a vise and clamping the pulley to the sprocket ( there is just enough room for little C clamps)
Spinning the hub and tapping it centered until it spins true. Note- this is real tedious, it has to be as true as possible. Tack two spots -remove clamps and test spin it, if it spins without noticable run-out- weld it to the sprocket.

Note- the welding ground must go to the pulley NOT in any way thru the hub bearings and gears! I even put wood between the vise jaws as a safety against arcing where I don't want.

Welding on a sprocket to the hub body on the other side is harder.

I used a freewheel that I took apart (they come apart by whacking the little ring with holes counter clockwise with a punch. While holding the knotched backside with a tire-iron clamped in a vise).