Engine Trouble 66cc/80cc Stock engine will not idle

Status
Not open for further replies.

sh4d0wm4n42

Local time
10:11 AM
Hey guys, so I've been searching everywhere.... Here and YouTube. My problem is the engine will not idle at all. I've checked the slide in the carb and it's positioned properly. I can get the engine to run, but by the time it's running I'm about ready to pass out or puke my guts up. Even when the clutch is locked at half, it won't idle at a full stop just to warm up the engine. Bearing in mind this is my first build, it's fully stock. I've checked through the forums and tried other suggestions such as reseating the slide in the carb, adjusting clutch tension at the motor, but I cannot get it to idle to warm the engine up... And it's been like this for the 5 months that I have had it running.

I was living in the mountains, and even riding down hill it took 45 minutes to a hour to get the engine to kick over. Any help is appreciated... I'm going insane trying to figure this out.

if idle screw is all the way in, that usually means you are way too rich and dropping needle down should help

otherwise, I'd start with a compression test

Fuel, air, mixture, intake, compression, spark, exhaust...

In no particular order (start with whatever is easiest).
Check fuel flow from the hose by pulling it off the carb and draining fuel into a cup.
Check air flow through the filter by taking it off and blowing through it.
Check intake is sealed by spraying water or carb cleaner on it's welds and at the ends while the engine is running.
Check the a/f mixture by a quick look at the sparkplug colour.
Check the compression with a compression tester.
Check for strong consistent spark by holding the plug against the outside of the cylinder head.
Check exhaust is flowing by taking it off and blowing through it.

Last edited: