After the build - Keeping the bike sound and safe

junglepig

Local time
1:04 PM
As a MB noob, I want to know what parts of my bike I need to really watch for stress failures that is sort of MB specific.
I've read about stress fractures happening on seat posts, and near motor mounts. I've read about wheel bearings going out.
I do a pre-ride check to be sure everything is in place and tight, and that my chain tension is good, but I might miss the beginnings of a stress fracture on the frame.
And I pulled, cleaned, inpected, and packed my wheel bearings as part of my build.

So, from those of you with lots of experience with bikes that were not designed for use with a motor, where should I pay the most attention to if I want to avoid a crash caused by a mechanical failure of the normal bicycle frame and components?
What do I need to be able to recognize to catch problems early?

I welcome any thoughts you wish to share that might keep me upright.

Quick release axles, checkem before every ride to make sure they're not loose. Brake pads b4 every ride to make sure they haven't moved on ya, centered on the rim surface. Steering quill bolt is tight and handle bar bracket bolts. Those 3 areas are the most important to me from experience of stuff coming loose on me. Almost ate it one day when my handle bars came loose on me from the quill bolt coming loose. Brake pads can tilt or move up to rub on a tire and wear the sidewall out quick. Always look for cracks in the frame near welded joints, you never know.