CVT airplane CVT

jeb99

Local time
3:37 AM
Hi, I've been building an airplane for the last 15 years (whew!) I've got a Subaru EA81 turbo (should develop about 120 hp)
with a 2:1 belt reduction on it. It hasn't flown yet, but runs great (90% done - 90% to go type of thing). Anyway, wondering
if anybody out there has adapted a CVT for airplane or swamp buggy ? I want to let the prop "idle" when the
engine does - but keep the prop rpm constant while in flight. Normally this would be done by changing the pitch
on the prop blades. It seems like keeping the engine rpm at a constant - oh, say 2000rpm or 3000 or 4000 while
the prop turns 2500 would be really cool.
Anybody out there know of people who have done this type of setup? Info? Links to pages?

Hi jeb99;

Know nothing about this CVT setup, but if you have not done so already, do one piece of housekeeping. Research how much your prop will flex under a normal duty cycle. I think that would mean from a full throttle ground start to a higher altitude cruise. My understanding is that many props, especially home built wood props, change pitch significantly, and thereby naturally give you some of the effect you want. Why add weight/complexity needlessly?

I've got a 3 blade warp drive propeller - carbon fiber - not sure it flexes at all!
You're the first reply - seems like nobody has attempted this.

As a paramotor pilot - nice prop! But I'll bet it does flex. Not a sign of weakness - just the opposite. It's a design goal for the makers. I have not done this myself, but I would e note the manufacturers and ask the question. You might be surprised at how much they know about their product. Even if they have not wind tunnel tested it, against different "flight speeds" and prop speeds, they could sim it with software from any reputable aeronautical engineering school. And I'm guessing they have......