Another new guy

gr8acclaim

Local time
6:28 AM
Hello all. I'm another new guy. I'm here in Indiana, just east of Indianapolis, maybe like 10 miles, maybe a bit more.

I've been wrenching on my own cars for fifteen years, and about five years ago I gave up on the V-8 and have had sixes and fours since then (aside from a camaro I got cheap and resold on eBay).

My neighbors moved out two months ago and I helped the landlady clean up the place a little. Out of helping I got to keep the two bikes we found under the back porch. Got a ladies' 10-speed in decent shape and a 12-speed men's mountain bike. Both cleaned up pretty well. Took the WD-40 to 'em and wiggled some things around, and now the shift through all gears and all the brakes work. About the only complaints I have on either one is that the seats have holes and from being outside, they're waterlogged. Neither has any suspension though, because they're basically cheap-o bikes -- obviously no one would leave a $500 gem under the porch and move out...

I've been upgrading them a little since then. Got a $10 speed computer and hooked it up on the men's bike. Bought a new self-sealing tube to fix a flat on the ladies' bike. Bought a $10 kid's bike from a garage sale that has a twist-grip shifter for a 6-speed rear and swapped that over to the men's bike. Also I salvaged the seat off the kiddie bike so I can sit now without getting a pee-pants wet spot (people driving by were honking when I was outside adjusting the shifter and brakes).