Any engine modifiers out there?

oh yeah clutches are big on these bikes if you tighten it up they also need to be heavier so they engage harder and dont slip

Last edited:
I've worked on both too, and your eyes must be seeing the finer details in the "Cag" engine that my eyes don't. Oh, and any engine that cannot be over-revved is called "restricted". :LOL:

I remember when I was 18 and knew everything...... ahhhh the good old days. ;)

Seriously though - when I was a teenager, I was constantly tinkering around with mini-bikes, mopeds, old scooters, etc. (much like yourself) This is a hobby that has stuck with me my entire life. Even though I never worked as a mechanic, I do hold (an outdated) ASE Master Technician certificate. My neighbor was a mechanic and car/motorcycle nut and I learned a lot from him too. One of the things I learned from him and my father was that you never know as much as you think you do, and a little humility goes a long way.

i work in a machine shop bud and when did i say i knew everything?
the chinese kits that are on those sites blow. i didnt say anything about the jap engines did i?
the cag engine does have flaws such as a poorly made reed cage design(but its cheap:)) and an under sized carb, bad port timing, and the expansion chambers were very very small and hd the head pipe ike halfway into the the divergant cone! but any person who knows the fine art of hot roding can fix those things and make a great engine. did you know there are three main branches of the chinese mitsu clone engines? there are the top quality one that have a cast M on the cases and then there is the meduim one that has the sanren or as we pbikers call "the squigely line motor" and then the lowest and most comon...the no namer

There's a couple of ways to get the clutch to engage a the proper rpm and get it to hit harder. First install heavier springs (red) and second is to add the weights on the shoes (headless allen screws)