Balanced Crank?

Discussion in 'Performance Mods' started by Dave FZ1000, Mar 17, 2018.

1. Dave FZ1000

Dave FZ1000 New Member

Know of anyone who Balances Cranks, or sells them? Seems the balanced cranks I read about are old ones, or from companies that seem to be out of business. Seems like a worth while mod to me, especially since it would help protect the engine and other parts as well, at least. Doubt it's something I could do with minimal equipment. Thanks for any ideas, etc. I'm kind of new to this.

<
  2. FurryOnTheInside

FurryOnTheInside Well-Known Member

My interpretation is when we say "balanced crank" this just means the best balance of piston, con rod and crank counterweight that we can get for our own peak RPM.

You can get a better balanced (than a stock generic) engine using very minimal tools. :)
    It is definitely a worthwhile mod. The early posts on this forum are full of stories about bolts falling out, frames cracking from metal fatigue, and people needing foam grips and springs under the saddle to stay comfortable.

Personally, I started by drilling a couple of holes, one in each crank cheek. Radially drilled, so no need to split the case. Starting with a 3/16" tungsten carbide bit and then used a 3/8" tungsten carbide bit. Drilled about 15mm deep measured nearer the side of the hole than the middle so it is the average depth (you can drill shallower then go back and drill deeper later on if you wanted to).
    I then lightened the upper half of the connecting rod somewhat just by grinding a bit of material from around the edges using the grit stone whatsit on the Dremel. I haven't seen any posts about bent con rods so I assumed there is some excess material, and removing steel makes sense for lowering weight.