Tires Best tire

jweeks

Local time
2:13 PM
im running a friction drive on my 20" bike its my first build and im wondering what tires are best to not wear quickly

Depends on what size 20" tire you'd like. I'm running a 20"x1.95", and this is what I chose to go with: http://www.danscomp.com/444020.php?cat=PARTS

I love these tires!! I have a chain driven setup, but after hundreds of miles there is just barely anymore wear on the back tire than the front. And that wear coulda just as easily come from being on the kickstand, me revving the engine up, and dropping the back end to stop the tire...

I'd definitely be ordering a set of kevlar tires from Dans Comp, tho! Go ahead and get ya some rim & tire liners for both sides of your tubes... and think about heavy-duty or thorn-resistant tubes.

I have used friction drives for years, & from my experience, if you TAKE IT EASY with this type drive, most any tire [ no knobby tire ] will hold up well. I have $8 tires on one for a long time !!

I have used friction drives for years, & from my experience, if you TAKE IT EASY with this type drive, most any tire [ no knobby tire ] will hold up well. I have $8 tires on one for a long time !!

That is very good info, thanks.

Am I to assume that jumping small curbs etc is a no-no with a friction drive bike, or am being overly cautious?

Jumping curbs should be a no-no for all motored bikes, not just friction driven MBs... especially rack-mounted engines as the higher center of gravity could cause the bike to lean heavily. Plus, when you consider that the majority of curbs are right next to tiny pebbles, gravel, & sand... it's definitely not recommended to jump any curb at any time.

You can jump curbs as much as you'd like, but nobody here should be recommending to jump curbs of any kind. If you don't like your skin, go ahead... try to jump & expect to fall. Otherwise, stay on solid ground.